Home > Company

Company

The Renaissance of Scorpais more apparent now thanever.IneffectScorpahas performeda homecomingwith its acquisition in 2010 by its originalfounderMarcTeissierwhoalso owns theShercobrand.It must be rememberedthatScorpastartedin 1994 with theWorks294model that was 20years ago. Now in 2014 which is the 20thanniversary of its creationa brand new model is being released.

The new 2014 Scorpawasnamed theTwentyto recall the20th anniversaryof the brand.Forthe recent show two engine sizes were displayed, the125 andthe280.For the series, a full range will be available, there will be models from 125ccto300cc.

1993
Founded in 1993 byMarcTeissierand JoelDomergue, the Scorpa Company designed, developedand commercializedtrial bikeswith the goalofdesigninghigh-performancemotorcycles,with a strong identity, offering a highlevel of quality.

Designed and builtin 8 weeks, the prototype was called the “Type 293",it was equipped with aRotax engine and participated in the World Championship and the French Trials Championshipat the hands ofBrunoCamozzi. Sportingsuccessesas well asenthusiast’s interest inthis newtrial bikecontributed to thedevelopmentofindustrial productionand a distribution network.

In November of1993, afterits official presentation, the firstmass-producedScorpaWorks294was manufactured and 100 copies were sold. In October of 1994 its successor, the Works 295 which was an improvedversion sold 250 copies.

1995
A new model called “Easy” was presented at the WorldTwoWheels show inParis. It was veryadvanced because of its technical featuresand designidentity, over 300 units were sold.

1996
The newvintage of the “Easy” was very technicallyinnovativeand used a very advanced rear brake system and aresonanceintake andexhaust system. The model was produced intwo displacements, 250 and 280cc.

1998
Victory inthe Scottish Six Dayswiththe EnglishriderGrahamJarvis and 4thin the World ChampionshipTrialsalso withGrahamJarvis at the controls.

1999
Scorpais contacted byYamahaMotor Corporation.They want to develop apartnership, resulting in the provision of250cctwo-strokeand125ccfour-stroke engines and also the new 250ccfour-stroke.
While the “Easy99”still received sometechnical improvements,Scorpabegan developinga new model that was 100%unique, designed around anew engine,thelaunch was planned for2000.

2000
This is the year that the collaboration with SY250Racing was born. The researchand development of anovel frame geometry which did not use damperrods. A very unique motorcycle was created that was technically advanced and esthetically pleasing.
It includedthe world premiereof many aluminum componentsthat were fitted as standard(footrest, upper and lowertees,caps,Swingarm) and a number of parts inchrome molybdenum steel and ergal alloy.

2002
Due to the limitedsize of the competitive motorcycle market, the ScorpaSY250SYRacing model was cancelled and in its place the 250Long Ride was released, thus changing the focus tocustomers who were more interested in trail riding than competition. This model hada larger fuel tank (5 L.) and a seatkit.

2003
In its desire toexpand its customer base, Scorpawill launch anew model, theTY-S 125F. It is the fruitof a new collaborationbetweenYamaha and Scorpaand is designed to meetthe high expectationsof a markethithertoneglected, theleisure-discovery trial.
This newmotorcycle isa worthy successor totheYamahaTY125: itwill takethe name "TY" with the permission of theJapanese manufacturer.
The engine will have a displacement of 125cc and be accessible to all. It is a 4 stroke engine and meets all of the European environmental standards through 2008.

2005
A version calledthe TY-S 175F with an enginewith a greater displacementwas released in order to expandthe range andmeet theEnglish speaking markets(U.S., UK, Canada, Australia...).

Designedto succeed theSY-250, theScorpaSY-250F uses aYamahafour-stroke engine. Basicallycreated for theenduro,thisengine has been modifiedto adapt to theworld of trials had a weightof only 2.7kg. The15CDV6chrome molybdenum steel frame providedincreased strength and durability.

Theworld championMarcColomerparticipated in thedevelopment ofthis bike. The SY-250F Long Rideis bothatrial bikeandmotorcycletrail bike.With its4.5 litertank, the comfortable saddleand the Yamaha250ccfour-stroke motor,itcan run in allkinds of terrain withautonomy, comfort. The Long Ride kit including the tank and seat, are adaptable to all of the racing versions.

One of the mostimpressiveproductions by Scorpais the 4Tricks. This isa mountain bike equipped with a 70cc motor. It consists of a single beam frame with the motor suspended under the beam. The beam frame also served as the fuel reservoir.

Scorpaalsoproposed a concept bike that was a cross between thetrialandenduro. T-Ride 250Fwas supposed to offerthecapabilities of atrials bikewiththe relative comfortofan enduro bike.

Starting in 2005Scorpamotorcycleswere also distributedby theYamaha Motor network in France. The approachwas identicalto the Belgian Yamaha distributor networkthat started in 2006.

In addition, thepartnership withYamahamotorcyclespenetratedtheJapanese market, and obtained contractswith the TokyoPolice School to use the TY-S model125F.
More recentlythe NationalPolice Academyof Senswereequipped with the modelTY-S 175Ffor training of all futurepolice motorcyclists.

Commercial distributionwasbasedona network of French dealersand23official importersforexport markets, representing approximately 60% ofturnover.TheScorpabrand nowrepresents 18% share of annualglobal market which was estimated at11,000motorcycles.The brand hasalreadysold more than10,000machinesworldwide.

2009
The Tribunalof Commerce inNîmesordered theliquidationof the Manufacturer Scorpa. In the autumn of 2009 the company is purchased by Sherco. 4 stroke models are equipped with Yamaha engines and twostroke models are equipped with Shercoengines.

Scorpa > Company

Historique

La renaissance de Scorpa est plus que jamais d’actualité. En Effet Scorpa à effectuer un retour aux sources avec le rachat de celle-ci par son fondateur initial Marc Teissier en 2010 également propriétaire de la marque Sherco. Il faut se rappeler que Scorpa à démarrer en 1994 avec le modèle Works 294, il y a 20 ans de cela et s’offre cette année pour le 20ème anniversaire de sa création un tout nouveau modèle.
La nouvelle Scorpa 2014 a était baptisé la Twenty pour rappeler le 20ème anniversaire de la marque. Pour le salon, nous vous présentons  deux motorisations, la 125 et la 280. Pour la série, une gamme complète sera à votre disposition, du modèle 125 cm3 à la 300c m3.  

1993:
Créée en 1993 par Marc Teissier et Joël Domergue, la société Scorpa conçoit, développe et commercialise des motos de trial avec un objectif concevoir des motos performantes, à forte identité, offrant un haut niveau de qualité.
Réalisé en 8 semaines, le prototype dit “Type 293” à moteur Rotax, participe au Championnat du Monde et Championnat de France de trial aux mains de Bruno Camozzi. Les succès sportifs rencontrés ainsi que l’intérêt que suscite cette nouvelle moto de trial concourent à la volonté d’une mise en production industrielle ainsi qu’au développement d’un réseau de distribution.
À partir de novembre 1993, après sa présentation officielle, la première Scorpa fabriquée en série la Works 294 sera fabriquée et vendue à 100 exemplaires. Lui succédant en octobre 1994, la Works 295, déclinaison améliorée, sera vendue à 250 exemplaires.

1995:
Présentation au Mondial du Deux Roues de Paris, un nouveau modèle baptisé Easy, à l’identité très marquée par ses solutions techniques et son design, est commercialisé à plus de 300 unités.

1996:
Le nouveau millésime Easy innovera techniquement par l’adoption d’un système de frein arrière novateur ainsi que d’un dispositif de résonance à l’admission et à l’échappement. Produit en deux cylindrées, 250 et 280 cm³.

1998:
Victoire aux Six Jours d’Écosse avec le pilote anglais Graham Jarvis. 4ème au Championnat du Monde de Trial avec le pilote anglais Graham Jarvis

1999:
Scorpa est contactée par Yamaha Motor Corporation. afin de développer un partenariat, se traduisant par la fourniture de moteurs 250 cm³ deux temps puis 125 cm³ quatre temps aussi récemment 250 cm³ quatre temps.
Alors que la Easy 99 présente encore quelques améliorations techniques, Scorpa entreprend le développement d’un modèle 100 % inédit, conçu autour d’un nouveau moteur, dont le lancement est prévu pour l’année 2000.

2000:
Ainsi va naître de cette première collaboration la SY 250 Racing. Une recherche et le développement d’une géométrie de cadre inédite, avec amortisseur sans biellette notamment, a permis la création d’une moto unique d’un point de vue technique et stylistique.
Elle intègre en première mondiale des composants en aluminium taillés dans la masse montés de série (repose pieds, tés inférieurs et supérieurs, embouts de bras oscillant) ainsi que nombre de pièces en alliage d’acier au chrome molybdène ou d’ergal.

2002:
Du fait des dimensions limitées du marché de la moto de compétition, Scorpa décline son modèle SY 250 Racing en un modèle SY 250 Long Ride, touchant ainsi une clientèle plus axée sur la randonnée trialisante. Ce modèle comporte un kit réservoir et selle offrant plus d’autonomie (5 litres).

2003:
Dans sa volonté d’élargir sa clientèle, Scorpa va lancer un nouveau modèle, la TY-S 125F. Elle est le fruit d’une nouvelle collaboration entre Scorpa et Yamaha en répondant à une forte attente d’un marché jusqu’ici délaissé, le trial loisir-découverte.
Cette nouvelle moto doit être la digne héritière de la Yamaha TY 125  : elle reprendra l’appellation « TY » avec l’autorisation du constructeur japonais.
Le choix de la motorisation se portera sur une cylindrée de 125 cm³, accessible à tous, de type 4 temps afin de répondre aux nouvelles normes d’homologation Euro 2 puis 3 pour 2008.

2005:
Une version dite TY-S 175F disposant d’une cylindrée moteur supérieure a vue le jour pour étoffer la gamme et satisfaire les marchés anglophones (États-Unis, Royaume-Uni, Canada, Australie...).
Conçue pour succéder à la SY-250, la Scorpa SY-250F utilise un moteur Yamaha quatre temps. À la base crée pour l’enduro, ce moteur a été modifié pour s’adapter au monde du trial.?Avec un poids de 2,7 kg, le cadre en acier 15CDV6 au chrome molybdène assure légèreté et résistance.
C’est le champion du monde Marc Colomer qui a participé au développement de cette moto.?La SY-250F Long Ride est à la fois une moto de trial et une moto de randonnée. Avec son réservoir de 4,5 litres, sa selle et son moteur Yamaha 250 cm³ quatre temps, elle peut évoluer dans tous les types de chemins avec autonomie, confort.?L’ensemble Long Ride, réservoir et selle, est également disponible séparément pour s’adapter à la version Racing.
Une des productions les plus impressionnantes de Scorpa est le 4Tricks. C'est un VTT sur lequel on aurait greffé un moteur. Le cadre se compose d'une poutre unique faisant office de réservoir. Le moteur monocylindre quatre temps de 70 cm³ est suspendu sous cette poutre.
Dernièrement Scorpa propose aussi un concept entre le trial et l'enduro. La T-Ride 250F est censée offrir les capacités de franchissement d'un moto de trial avec le relatif confort d'une moto d'enduro.
Depuis 2005, les motos Scorpa sont aussi distribuées dans le réseau commercial Yamaha Motor France. La démarche est identique sur le réseau de distributeur de Yamaha belge depuis 2006.
Par ailleurs, le partenariat avec Yamaha permet de pénétrer le marché moto japonais, et d’y décrocher des marchés comme l’École de la Police de Tokyo qui a été équipée avec le modèle TY-S 125F.
Plus récemment l’École Nationale de Police de Sens vient de s’équiper de modèle TY-S 175F pour la formation de tous les futurs motards de la police.
La diffusion commerciale est axée sur un réseau de concessionnaires français ainsi que près de 23 importateurs officiels pour les marchés à l’export, représentant environ 60 % du chiffre d'affaires. La marque Scorpa représente aujourd’hui 18 % de part d’un marché mondial annuel estimé à 11 000 motos. La marque a déjà commercialisé plus de 10 000 machines de par le monde.

2009:
Le Tribunal de Commerce de Nîmes a prononcé la liquidation du constructeur.Scorpa est repris en automne 2009 par la société Sherco. Les modèles 2 temps sont pourvus de motorisation Sherco et les modèles 4 temps de motorisations Yamaha.